Paid advertising on WeChat Mini Program: rules & regulations, format, cost, targeting

After discovering the landscape of the media buying on WeChat, let’s dive deeper into a promising channel for advertising: Mini Programs.

Mini Program channel is capturing the growing amount of traffic. WeChat Platform offers paid media spaces on Mini Program interface. Mini Program with a clear audience category can be considered by advertisers when designing their media buying strategy.

1. A key opportunity for advertisers when buying media on Mini Programs?

Source: Aladdin – WeChat Mini Programs analytics tool

The biggest advertisers on Mini Programs are e-commerce (21%) and Mini Games (23%) companies in 2018.

Further readings

2. How does advertising work on WeChat Mini Programs? Requirements? Format? Cost? Supported WeChat Mini Program categories?

Regulations

The rules and requirements applied to a specific industry can be found on WeChat official website.

Is it open to foreign companies?

Open to:

  • companies registered in mainland China (including wholly foreign-owned enterprises a.k.a. WFOE)
  • overseas/foreign companies

Display / adverting format

  • Within the Mini Program page
  • The owner of the Mini Program configures the location where the ad appears.
  • Format: multiple ad layouts available
    • Picture & text format with an external link to the advertiser’s H5 / Mini Program
    • Ad layout: text message can be put either on top or at the bottom of the banner

Cost

Advertisers can purchase Mini Program ads through the bidding system.

Minimum CPC (= cost per click) = ¥0.5/$0.073

Minimum cost per day = ¥50/$7.28

Drawbacks

  • Advertisers cannot choose which Mini Program their ads will be displayed. So the WeChat system will help with the matching based on user profiles and the target audience set by advertisers.

Supported WeChat Mini App categories

  • WeChat supports a variety of Mini Program categories, including games, tools, stores.

All in one place – essential reports to learn the basics

3. Case study of media buying strategy on WeChat Mini Program

Case study assessing the performance of WeChat Mini Program ads to recruit Official Account followers with a Mini Program advertising as an initial entry point.

The chart as below is comparing the user acquisition costs on different WeChat channels based on a campaign, ran by WalktheChat agency

benchmark on WeChat advertising
Benchmark on how the different WeChat ad formats perform | May 2019 [WalktheChat]

In conclusion, Mini Program advertising significantly outperforms banners and Moment ads.


4. Updates and timeline

DateUpdatesSource / more details
March 2018WeChat introduces paid advertising on WeChat Mini Program:
– banner ad slot at the top or bottom of each Mini Program which links to the Mini Program being advertised
Westwin
September 2017[Testing phase] Advertising space to promote a Mini Program in the “Mini Programs Nearby” list
Advertisers can promote their Mini Program in this section through the bidding system.
Technode
Updated on 2019-08-23

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